Unopened Gift

If you don’t know this about me, I work in a Cancer Center, more specifically I work with an Oncologist and share a connecting suite with the chemotherapy department. Just a short walk down our hall we have a radiation department (where I worked a few years back).  There are several other important components in our center but those are our primary cancer care focused departments.  I am NOT a clinician or a medical professional. I am in an administrative role, a coordinator. A very large part of my every day, my waking hours five days a week is helping people find resources, make appointments, figure it all out, help them find their way in their journey.

My job is probably one of the most fulfilling in healthcare. I am blessed to witness several times a day the human spirit at work, the fight for life, the desire to ‘be’ in the moment while finding the right path to continue to the next.  These people, my patients are my heroes.  I love these people, with all their worries, hopes, fears and dreams, I love them all.  I believe each and every patient is a survivor. I believe that if they open their eyes the next day, they are a survivor. Their families are survivors, their friends and neighbors are survivors. Their community and support system is such a large part of the fight, the journey thus allowing me to be part of their journey ,each and every one and I am blessed to be part of that part of this.

I often wonder what God wants of me, what my job is here on earth, what is my gift? I only needed to unwrap that gift to see what it is. It’s been there all along, I just needed to allow myself the moment to open and see it, really see it and embrace that though I cry and falter, though I am human and make mistakes, have many, so many imperfections that I also have a ‘gift’ from god that is all mine to share.  My gift allows me to be part of the lives of so many, their journey, your journey.

My wish, hope, dream and prayer for you today is that you open your gift, see your light and let it shine for all to see even just for today, for your moment.. share your gift for all to embrace ❤

and when you find and open your gift, really see it,  pay it forward.

About Kim @ WampumHome

life in progress
This entry was posted in WWYD. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Unopened Gift

  1. kristin says:

    Kim
    you are a shining light to us all. much love and happiness to you and your family this holiday season and through the year.

    • Thx so much for reading my post.I have enjoyed my blogging friends so much, I thought it was time to share a little bit deeper into my other life. I am so blessed to have the most important things in life, family, friends and a heart that loves.

  2. Rebekah says:

    Beautiful! I am reading book right bow that talks about owning our gifts and not trying to be someone we aren’t. By knowing our gifts and using them to the best of our abilities we can show the world the glory of the Father.

    • Rebakah, Sounds like a beautiful book, I hope you share with us, I’d love to hear more. I am trying to be more aware of my ‘path’ and the one chose for me. Your support in reading my post is so appreciated.

  3. Alicia J says:

    This is a beautiful post! I love it. It captures your beautiful spirit and love.

    I often wonder the same exact thing. I see my purpose when I am going about my daily life. I may not work, but when I have the opportunity to go out, I try my best to be all that I can be for those who I have the chance to meet. I don’t have time to be rude or ugly because I don’t know what the other person went threw. That’s kinda the case for you, in our environment, your patients couldn’t handle someone being rude or ugly to them, they are already going threw enough. I thank God for people like us who have a heart for oher people. At the end of the day, we need each other! Thank you for this wonderful post Kim!

    • Don’t sell yourself short Curly Girl.. being a mom is a huge job, one that gets little thanks but the largest love you will ever know. I often think being a working mom when my daughter was younger was ‘easier’. I had no choice, I know, but given the choice to stay home, I would have jumped at it but I know it would have been much much harder than any ‘paid’ job I’ve had. Mom’s amaze me in all their craziness they manage to still find strength for a hug, a smile and always an I Love You. I also do Th<3 ank God for People who are sent my way and open to Love, forgiveness and compassion. I am Thankful for YOU Curly Girlfriend ❤

  4. What a beautiful post! Thank you for sharing your heart with all of us!

  5. Kennie says:

    I truly believe that everyone has a gift that is uniquely theirs. I think of my mom who works at a women’s homeless shelter. I know personally that as emotional as I am, I could not effectively work there. Seeing women day in and day out with their babies in tow, having to leave the premises by 7am each day, would break my heart. My mom is good at what she does, and the ladies love her for it. What God has for us, is truly for us.

    • Don’t doubt your strength. I am certain you could do what your mom does. But I do love the thought that you would revel in your success when you saw how well you did, it is quite a joy to see what we are capable of when helping others. I used to think working in a healthcare setting was not something for me. I worked in customer service, sales support with very little human contact for years and loved it, never would have left had the company not closed but god gave me what I needed even when I did not know it was in my plan.

  6. Cindy Howell says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your story! My mom dealt with cancer for a year before passing away and administrators, like you, play a major role in the treatment process. The patients are lucky to have you. 🙂

    • It is me who is lucky and blessed to have all these families teach me and let me be such a small part of their journey. The people I meet are my gifts to receive and I am thankful for each. I am happy you found comfort with your mom’s caregivers, such an important part of ‘life’ to find compassion in a time of uncertainty and sadly for your loss. ❤

  7. Brandi @ Finding the Path for Me says:

    Love this, of course I am now all teary eyed as I type! Thanks for sharing and thanks for being there for those that need you.

  8. Natalie says:

    Thank you for making a difference in this world. People need someone when they are in their most vulnerable moments. I believe that where your passion lies identifies your gifts. You found yours! ❤

  9. Adelien Tan says:

    Everyone should have got his or her own gift whether it is realized or not. You are a candle in the dark for the patients and family. I imagine how you witness the life and death of people around and how your spirit has encouraged them to be brave facing the life and death. Have a great day.

  10. As a breast cancer survivor, I can tell you that what you do at the oncology clinic makes a huge difference in the lives of the women and men you see each day. Thank you for your positive and caring spirit! Best.

    • Claudia, What an inspiration people like yourself are to me. It is me who draws inspiration from the people I get to meet every day, I get to learn about courage and priorities, love and caring from each person, each in their own way. I am so glad you are a survivor and here to share your strength and spirit with us ❤

  11. Deb Oakley says:

    Having spent some time at a cancer hospital, trying to be there for our son, we truly appreciated each and every person who worked there! They did everything they could to light the way for us. Whether family or patient, they treated us with kindness and compassion. I am so thankful for people like you, Kim. Yes, it is a gift that is so appreciated by so many!

    • I love you Deb. With all you have been through and the journey you have had this past year, you amaze and inspire me. This has been an incredibly painful past year for so many, through it we are been blessed to be reminded how very important the power of family is. Our parents and grandparents taught us well. They are in our hearts forever, only a breath and a memory away when we need them, where they will be kept warm, safe, at peace and loved forever. ❤

  12. you are doing God’s work, that’s for sure!
    whenever our family had had medical or mental health issues, that attitude and care of everyone associated with the hospitals and doctors’ offices makes such a huge difference in our emotions and coping skills — I am so glad there are people like you to help make the journey a little brighter!

    • Crazy how the job found me, I would have been content staying in sales, technology but my plan was set in place by a power higher than myself, I just never thought of it that way until recently. I am so blessed to have the moments I get with each and every person/patient and be part of the lives of their families while they’re in our care. It is me that gets so much more than I would ever be able to give. Thank you for your kind words and support ❤

  13. Dana says:

    I’m glad you realize how important your job is, and how you can make a positive impact on the people you interact with everyday. We all can use our gift to make at least one person’s day a little brighter – just imagine how wonderful it would be if every one did that!

    • I do love my job, I can’t say enough, it is the patients that give to me, they inspire me so many moments of each day I am there. I only can hope I make just a fraction of the difference they make to me. Thank you so much for your kind words, thanks for stopping by 🙂

  14. Bonnie Frank says:

    I didn’t know that you worked there. As someone whose mom, dad, brother-in-law and friend have had cancer, I thank you for helping them. All but one of the people I named died from cancer. It’s a scary, confusing and exasperating disease and people like you make it bearable. Thank you.

  15. Marta says:

    I think what you do is SO very very important. I’m sure your patients are thankful for you everyday to help them along their journey. It is so great that you have a job that is so fulfilling and meaningful to you!

    • Amen to fulfillment! It is such a tough time for patients and yet they are each so gracious when we all meet, I draw from their strength and it keeps me grounded, reminded often of what really is important. While leaving behind momentos are special, it’s the memories that live and get passed on through the generations. It is those that I keep close to my heart to visit often and when I need a lift.

  16. Bless you. Both my grandmas died of cancer, and I am so appreciative of people who work in that field. Thank you.

    • No. I am the one who appreciates the special time I get to spend with loved ones. Each and everyone has something special they share and I will treasure those moments always. ❤ Bless your grandparents ❤

  17. The human spirit is amazing. The ones who have hope seem to get through it at a better rate. My mom had breast cancer. She is a survivor. This world is full of chemicals and we do have higher rates of cancers. I sure do hope people start making changes for the better.

let your voice be heard

