SEVEN. 7 Things About Me

Blogging is an adventure, along the way I meet fabulous people, inspiring and creative, spiritual and grateful people, funny and serious all finding their path, their place in the community.  I recently read a post by Brandi @ Finding the Path For Me.  Brandi posted 7 things about herself and I thought hey… I can do that.. haha.. easier said than done.  I do love this idea, a great way to get to know eachother.  So, Here goes…

I hope if you decide to also post your 7 things you will link back to Brandi @ Finding the Path for Me as well as here at WampumHome.

  1. I am a Sagittarius, not sure what that means, but it seems like a good place to start and something you may not know about me :).  I am 50 years old and in a hurry to post before I am 51.  One of my goals this year was to blog, so here I am.
  2. I was a single mom for 16 years. My first husband and daughter’s dad hasn’t been seen or heard from since my daughter was 3 years old.  My husband today has openly and whole heartedly embraced my daughter as his own, he loves her unconditionally as I do his daughter.  We are a ‘blended family’ who has had our struggles but make it work the best we know how.  (umm, was that 3 things?)
  3. I ramble (see #2 as well as most my posts!).
  4. I struggle with co-dependency, this may (or not) be a later post, but it’s a bad habit and one that often puts me in a position of ‘needing’ to be accepted by even the harshest critics and always questioning what I did wrong or can do different. This is not to be confused with ‘dependency’ addictions, I am a ‘co-dependent’. It speaks volumes who know where I am coming from.
  5. I am a Grandmother. I have three grandsons (2 from a previous marriage/my son in law) They are 8, 15, 17.  All beautifully handsome and kind boys.  My daughter may never ever know just how much I admire the job she has done as a mom and step mom, but I admire her so much for the life she has given them.  I’ll post about them some day, but uncertain how much is too much with blogging yet. Life has not always been easy for them, but she loves her boys and her husband with all her heart.
  6. I am the oldest of 4.  I have two brothers who live further away and a sister nearby. My parents are both alive and thriving in retirement. They are more active than most retired adults I know.  They travel, find time for ALL their grandchildren near and far , best grandparents I know.  They are known to host frequent sleepovers with the young kids.  They make time for each of us individually even if it’s a phone call, they take time to just catch up on what is going on in our lives.
  7. So, I laid in bed wondering what #7 would be and it came to me! I sleep with SEVEN PILLOWS.. true story – SEVEN PILLOWS, my husband and one of my two German Shepherds.  My husband has his own two pillows in case your wondering.

There you have it. ME. Me in a post, summed up in seven parts.  I hope you’ll join ‘us’ in posting your seven things and share/ link/ pass it on 🙂   (see links in earlier part of my post).

Thanks for reading, stopping by. For you who have been here before, Thanks so very much for sticking with me through my ‘learning’ experience.

About Kim @ WampumHome

life in progress
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to SEVEN. 7 Things About Me

  1. Alicia J says:

    awhhh I learned even more about you! That’s wonderful!! I have a blended family too! It’s great when two families can blend together so perfectly. How in the WORLD can you sleep with 7 PILLOWS! I would be so uncomfortable! I think I will do 7 things about me too! 🙂

    • I was a little nervous about posting this, but so far all my blog buddies have been so supportive and kind (funny too) that I thought.. what the ‘hey’ and Brandi posting first made it all the easier. I do hope you’ll post also and link back to us, a fun way get to know one another and share with newcomers to our blogs 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving, wishing you all the stuffing a girl can eat!

  2. beignetmamas says:

    And here I thought I was bad with my four pillows! LOL! My mom is a Sagittarius. All the ones I know are some of the nicest and most outgoing people I have ever met. I can go to the store with my mom, leave her briefly to go to another aisle, and when I come back she’s chatting it up with two or three new friends. Complete strangers! And this is everywhere we go. It’s like you guys are people magnets! LOL!

    • Oh yes, I can talk with almost anyone.. My husband would say stay by his side cause if he didn’t know what to say to a person he knew I could carry (and on and on). I think we are supposed to be athletic (I am the clumsiest person I know) and forgiving, sometimes to a fault but it always ‘feels better’ to forgive than the alternative 🙂 The 7 pillows.just accumulated over the years. We have a king sized bed and sometimes I just feel like i’m sleeping all alone and it’s so so very far to the other side of the bed to find my husband. The dog just started sleeping with us the past few months, she is my 5th Shepherd and NONE have ever wanted to sleep with us before her. Thanks so much for stopping by. Best wishes for a safe and fulfilling Holiday 🙂

  3. marie says:

    You are so cute

    ________________________________

  4. I love this! 7 is the perfect amount of things to share with people, I think! I love it when I am able to get to know the bloggers on a different level. Thanks for sharing!

    • I do hope you’ll do the 7 things with us, the more the merrier. You can have fun with it, be serious, aw heck.. be hysterical if it feels right! If you do post your 7 things, please link back to Brandi and I 🙂 Thanks for stopping by 🙂 Wishing you a Happy Thanksgiving 🙂

  5. Carli says:

    Thank you for the insight on your world. I always love learning more about other people 🙂

  6. Vee says:

    Nice to meet you and learn some things about you. 🙂

  7. Oh, these are some of my favorite kinds of posts 🙂 I enjoyed learning more about you!

  8. Adelien Tan says:

    I love to know more about people. We have a very different culture, but I love to know what other culture looks like. Thanks a lot for sharing.

  9. Brandi @ Finding the Path for Me says:

    Hey girl, you did it! It wasn’t that scary was it? It is fun to see peoples reactions to what we share. I am still trying to figure out how you use 7 pillows, LOL! Thanks for opening up and for linking back to me. Have a blessed Thanksgiving.

    • Brandi, Thanks so much for inspiring this post! I struggle with what to post about and your post ‘spoke’ to me! The seven pillows, oh boy… well, with a king sized bed it’s not as hard as you’d think but it’s clearly (just one) one of my oddities. I have many more, but have to save some things for later posts! haha..

  10. I love learning more about my blogging friends! I’m in a blended family too. My kiddo and I moved in with my husband when we married 2.5 years ago (kiddo is 8). I have to say, though sometimes it can be frustrating to interact with my ex, we are blessed that he remains close to his son, sees him 3 or more times a year despite living in another state and calls EVERY night. So my kid kind of has four parents: mom, stepmom, dad, stepdad. He has never seen any animosity, so assumes we all get along fine, which mostly we do. And I’m the youngest of 4, LOL!

    • Your son is blessed to have a family that tries to stay friendly for his sake. Kids really do need their parents, all of them. I’ve always believed there could never be enough people to love us and love eachother, especially our children. It hasn’t always been easy for my daughter wondering who her dad was, where he was but I was always very clear with her that it was NOT her, he had ‘issues’ with drugs and alcohol and they were sadly his first and only real loves (a hard lesson for so many of us). I always got along well with my step daughter’s mom and she and my husband have tried to have a good relationship, so we have seen both sides of this story. Thx for stopping by! I hope you’ll join us for 7 things 🙂

      • My mom always told me that. My dad and her divorced when I was 11 and she never felt jealous toward my stepmom. She always told me the more love I had in my life, the more love I’d have to give. I feel sad for parents who are not there for their children. They will regret it one day and then they cannot change the past.

      • Your mom is a smart lady! I had a great support system from my large Irish family and they all played a role in my daughter’s life and continue to do so. I let go of my anger years ago to move on with my life. I hope you’ll join us with 7things ‘about you’ 🙂

  11. Your an amazing woman! I was a single mom for a while too.

    • I have always had a special place in my heart for single mom’s. I gravitate towards them in my friendships, an understanding we have of the struggles, fears, and sometimes loneliness of going it alone. I love all moms and admire the one’s that have had one person in their lives, but it was not my path. I used to ‘envy’ those who did have that, now I just embrace our differences. Thx for stopping by, I hope you join us in our 7 things 🙂

  12. Pearlin says:

    Loved learning more about you 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by Pearlin :)Hope you’ll join us in ‘7 things’ and link back 🙂 It was ‘weird’ at first but fun and I love getting to know one another better in our journey 🙂

  13. I love learning a little more about my blogging friends that I follow! Single mom is hard! I’m so happy your 2nd husband treats her well. I love happy endings.

    • They have a great friendship, sometimes I think she is more like him than me. They both love working outdoors, gardening and she recently got her own chickens for backyard eggs 🙂 Thanks for stopping by. I hope you’ll consider doing 7 things and linking back to us 🙂 It’s been great fun getting to know one another better 🙂

  14. happycat13 says:

    Sagittarians are the best! My hubby is one and the most jovial, honest person I know. As far as “co-dependency” goes, I really think the hardest thing to overcome in this human condition is the need for approval. I don’t consider myself to be co-dependent, but my feelings still get hurt. I always thought it was just part of being a “misfit”! Lol….

    • There are no misfits in life 🙂 Only those making their own way. Co-dependency is something I want to explore more about in my posts, I’m hoping to learn along the way. I love the word jovial!! yup, I am jovial (most days), it is my preferred way to be 🙂 Thx so much for stopping by. Hope you’ll consider joining us in 7 things 🙂

  15. I am laying here counting my pillows- 5 plus three decorative ones that come off at bedtime! So you beat me with the amount you use to sleep. I think its great you have blended your families so nicely- it hasn’t been as easy with my dad’s new girlfriend.

    • Give your relationship time Kate. It hasn’t always been easy with my husband and daughter, especially in the early years. They mostly really liked eachother, but being a teenager and a kid that had really ONLY had her mom most her life, having another adult was a super tough adjustment at times. My husband can be very stubborn and uncensored when he’s upset, so he spoke his mind when he probably should have just shut up. Love is not perfect, relationships have growing pains. Keep some time just for you and your dad.. no talk of new girlfriend, just about your relationship or what is in the moment.. a movie, a walk, a game, a book.. Your never alone in what you’re going through, there is always someone out there that feels the same or can relate. Come back and chat anytime ❤ ps.. would love you to join in on 7things 🙂

  16. Cherie @ incherieswords.com says:

    This is great! I love meeting and learning new things about people, especially fellow bloggers. Seven pillows!! Wow, and my husband calls me a pillow hog with four. He has two. 🙂 Thanks for sharing seven things about you!

    • I’d say if you have four now, by the time you get to my age you’ll graduate to 7 too!! Thanks for stopping by 🙂 If you ever do 7 things, please link back, it’s been a fun post and learning about others that joined in along the way 🙂

let your voice be heard

