FREECYCLE , Yes, I said FREE

You know that old saying, one man’s junk is another’s treasure.  Well, TRUTH is

there’s entire movements out there based on this theory. Sharing, Yard Sales, Ebay,

Barter sites, Craigs List and so on.

Recently I started joining facebook yardsales (oh yes, virtual yard sales)  type in your Town name and yard sale or virtual yard sale and see what pops up in your area. (my cousin Cheryl turned me on to the yard sale thing) Amazing deals and great for kids, home improvement projects. You can also post “ISO” (took me a bit to figure ISO means IN SEARCH OF)  Working on a sewing project ? post : ISO fabric remnants. Here I go rambling again, this post, about Freecycle.org  was inspired by a recent comment I made on a pillow post by Lorela of Life with Lorelai. Lorelai rocks all her posts, take a minute to click on this link and see what she has share. I commented about ‘free’ fabric (and more) with freecycle.org and thought this may be worth sharing with others not yet ‘in’ on the recycle/ freecycle kick.

Have you heard of FREECYCLE, tried FREECYCLE, gotten anything great?

Their Mission Statement : Mission Statement

Our mission is to build a worldwide gifting movement that reduces waste, saves precious resources & eases the burden on our landfills while enabling our members to benefit from the strength of a larger community.

My Freecycle.org experience:

So, do you have anything you no longer need/ want/ have outgrown, kids toys, bicycles, car tires, appliances, bathroom tiles, fabric, yarn, furniture ?? Well, you get the idea.. if you have something you want to ‘gift’ , give away, you post on FREECYCLE.ORG.

Looking for something like kids toys, bicycle, appliances, fabric, yarn, craft materials, furniture (o.k., I’m being repetitive) you get the idea (again) If you’re looking for something then you post ISO (your heart’s desire as long as it’s rated “G”, you can post what you need.

Some of the things I’ve given away on Freecycle.org are extra bathroom tiles, tiles we had excess of or that were left at the house when we moved in.  I helped clean out an office a few years back and we ‘gifted’ (aka – gave away, recycled) on freecycle some office supplies, old charts, computer paper, carbon paper.  My family has given away/ gifted children’s toys, older books (yes, they still make books).

Things I’ve gotten from Freecycle.org are a walker for a patient in my office, yarn for patients (and myself), scarves for patients having chemotherapy experiencing hair loss. I also got an awesome Crate and Barrel 8 x 10 rug (gently used!) a few years back. (can I hear an atta girl!)

You never need to let a stranger into your home, you don’t ever need to go into someone else’s home either.  Remember, this is FREE.  No cash or monies exchanging hands, so all your freebies are able to be left curbside, doorstep. Always practice safety and bring a friend or let someone know where you are going. I have never heard of a safety issue with working with this site, but Always best to practice safe ways in our daily lives.

So, if you’ve read enough and you’re ready to go find some fabulous FREE things to help you with your home projects, clothes or entertain your family, etc..   go on over, find the browse groups tab, locate your state and a town closest to you and see if this could be of interest. Remember, you can post things you need to move out, clean up out of your own homes too.  You will need to ‘join’, which is free. You’ll be prompted along.  Check it out, let me know what you think. 🙂 Would love to hear if you find anything fabulous or it helps you clear out unwanted/needed items in your life.  click here:  FREECYCLE.ORG

About Kim @ WampumHome

life in progress
This entry was posted in Frugal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to FREECYCLE , Yes, I said FREE

  1. Alicia says:

    **Waves*** Hey my buddy!! I am so glad to see you back on the blogging train.

    I really should check out this FreeCycle.org. I have clothes that are sitting around and I am tired of looking at them. Do you ever have stuff you need to get rid of and they just pile up everywhere? I mean they are in GREAT condition, but they didn’t move on Ebay and I am tired of listing them. LOL That’s sad huh? I guess I will move them to freecycle. Thanks Kim for sharing this! 🙂

    • Alicia, “waves” backatcha my curly buddy 🙂 I even have a post ‘pending’ in draft/ waiting for edits.. hahaha.. go figure, i must have had a really good night’s sleep. Most of my inspiration has been coming from interactions within the group and blogs on the group. You all are more valuable than you will ever know in my life. I hope you have great success with FREECYCLE. It will be your new budget stretcher go to. So much fun to give and get free! and we’re doing the earth a lot of good for the future of our families 🙂 ……… until we meet again …….. 🙂

  2. This is very cool! I am definitely going to be checking out my hometown for freecycle. Thanks, Kim for the Link Love! 🙂

    ~Lorelai
    Life With Lorelai

    • Lorelai, thanks for the inspiration for the quote. Freecycle is such a fabulous group for so many reasons. I love being able to effortlessly get rid of items that are not past their life. I’ve also had great luck with posting “ISO yarn” I think you may have similar results for fabric and fabric remnants, even old curtains, pillow cases, certain shirts are great fabric ideas. Can’t wait to hear how you do and WHAT you do with your new found treasures!

  3. Melanie says:

    Thanks for this reminder. I looked into this at one time a couple years ago and there wasn’t many people participating in my area. I need to look again. 🙂

    • I do hope you find more people in your area this time around. Maybe if you ‘share’ my post you’ll get more interest in your area.. haha.. hint hint. Would love to hear how you make out.

  4. Natalie says:

    I am so glad people are giving away items that still have life in them instead of filling landfills! Thank you for sharing that link.

    • A great way to share, recycle, reuse and save money. When my daughter first told me about it I was so excited, I checked the site hourly for great finds! I never thought the benefit would have extended to me being able to help a patient here and there, which was truly a much larger gift for me, being able to share what others had to offer 🙂

  5. Rebekah says:

    This sounds like a great way to get rid of items you no longer need! I haven’t ever heard of Freecycle, but I do really like all the FB yardsale/trade groups. I’ve seen some great items on there.
    I would never have thought if searching for craft supplies though, how smart!

    • I love FREE and great deals, the yard sales I’ve seen are pretty amazing, most of the things are in almost perfect shape too. Craft supplies are def at a high price these days, but I bet if you posted ‘in search of’ ISO and what you were looking for then someone would surely remember a dusty old box they no longer need or want filled with goodies 🙂 Let me know how you make out 🙂

  6. Thanks for reminding me about Freecycle! I used it when we lived in Washington state, I got a awesome free standing basketball hoop and then we moved to Texas, I Freecycled it back!

    • A basketball hoop is awesome. I had looked for one a few years back with no luck.. wished I had lived closer to you.. haha.. You used Freecycle exactly the way I think they hope people will, get what you need, give back what you no longer have use for. Great for the environment and the budget! Can’t wait to hear of your new freecycle finds 🙂 Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  7. adelien says:

    There might not be freecycle here, but I usually give my unused things to church social commttee. The committee will pick them up and distribute them to others who need them.

    • Such a beautiful thing you do to share with your church, giving directly to those in need. I mostly find freecycle as a way to stretch our budget leaving money for bills but also a way to contribute to a better environment. In the US we live a ‘gifted’ life, full of luxuries we take for granted. It is a warming feeling to know what you do for others. ❤

  8. Bonnie Frank says:

    What a wonderful opportunity to get rid of some things and gather others! The FREE part makes it the best of all!

    • FREE should be my middle name! I especially love finding things for other people 🙂 Anything to stretch my budget gets my vote 🙂 Hope you get to move out some stuff you no longer need to make room for more (this time free) things 🙂

  9. Never heard of FreeCycle, but I’m big on those online yard sales! I have a list of stuff that I need to post on mine next week, actually!

  10. Vee says:

    I actually have signed up for freecycling, but forgot about it. Thanks for the reminder to check and see what might be out there. You know me… I love to turn trash into something wonderful!!

    • I love FREE, Repurposing and upcycling, anything to stretch a dollar 🙂 Your recreating old items into art is a perfect match for freecycle and online yard sales 🙂 Remember, you can post ISO too. Some people wouldn’t think to post ‘scrap’ fabric or old fence piece but if you ask it gives them an opportunity to ‘clean house’ 🙂 Can’t wait to see what more you create 🙂 Maybe you could post on how to ‘properly’ use power tools to help get me off the ‘time out’ list with these … haha..

  11. Carli says:

    So here is my rant about my local freecycle. Numerous times they took down my post because it didn’t fit their guidelines. After a large garage sale, we told people to just come take items and was told that wasn’t appropriate. Another time, I said I would take any leftover coupon inserts if no one took them and they took that one down too. I finally wrote a strongly worded email to the admin. AND it ended up being my husbands cousin. Whoops! Small town for ya! Oh well! But I LOVE my local FB page garage sales. I have gotten almost all my kids Hanukkah presents on there! Great post!

    • haha.. so funny you ended up knowing the person you complained to. It sounds like they were over controlling the purpose of the site. I have seen people post looking for Cars, Game consoles (xbox, wii, etc..), entire houses of furniture “for friends”. Some of them crack me up, some outrage me, but I’ve learned to ignore the one’s that don’t apply to me.. the old saying “take what you need, leave the rest” applies to so many aspects including freecycle. Glad you’re having positive results with the yard sales. I haven’t posted anything there yet, but love the whole idea!! Wishing you a Happy Thanksgiving 🙂 Hope it’s filled with laughter and great memories 🙂

  12. Reblogged this on Wannabe Green Mom and commented:
    I absolutely love Freecycle. This week, I received a small corner 3 tier shelve that I was able to restore and paint. It am very happy with the finished result.

let your voice be heard

