Save Today, Step One

Hello Folks, Let’s get saving together. blogfrugal

I’ve been in a coupon and savings fog lately, end of summer goes that way for me. I get caught up in end of season garden closing and a little less daylight, it gets my routine all in a funk.  So, here is how I got my daughter Nicole got me started and first steps I use to help beginners:

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

1.  In the comments below post your grocery list. Also, if you’re feeling brave, post what your weekly grocery total $$ is/was.

blogfrugalgrocerylist

2. Write your week’s menu down for your main meals, food needs.  You’ll find you serve some things every week. eg; pasta, sauce, meatballs 1x/wk, eggs, english muffins, 1x/wk.

Let’s get started.

This week my list goes something like: Hamburg, Chicken (whole), Sausage, Sliced Sharp Cheese, Shredded Cheddar Cheese, Ham steaks, Onion, Potatoes, Carrots, Sugar Pumpkin, Gravy, Asparagus, frozen peas, corn.  Garlic Bread, Ice Cream.

My Menu will be something like: (yes, I’m unorganized .. still working on getting back in a groove again) Sunday – Whole Chicken, veggies, potatoes or rice (recipes anyone?) Monday – Hamsteak with diced potatoes/peppers/onions in foil pouch on grill, asparagus.  Tuesday – Chicken Soup with leftovers from Sunday.  Wednesday -Shepherds pie cooked “inside” sweet pumpkin, easy and scrumptuous.  Thursday – Egg casserole (hash browns from leftover potatoes in bottom of pan topped with scrambled egg mixture, leftover asparagus, leftover ham, topped with shredded cheese.. cook for 30mins EASY).  Friday – Pasta with sausages (cooked in crock pot w/sauce) with Garlic Bread.   Saturday – Sharp Cheddar Grilled Cheese or any leftovers.   Leftovers during the week are planned into other meals but mainly used for lunches throughout the week.

I haven’t been doing the coupon thing for over a month, my grocery $$ will look more like yours, let’s see how we do and how we can do better next week. Look forward to seeing your menu/grocery list in the comments below 🙂                                                              $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Later that same day………….   OY! definitely time to get on the savings train again. I spent (for just 2 of us!) $97.00.

blogfrugalmoneytrain

#1 Mistake – I didn’t bring my list.                   #2 Mistake – went in at dinner time and hungry.  So, I skipped the sausage for pasta night, not happy with price (will have to make meatballs w/hamburger), I forgot the sugar pumpkin but that will work out well, they are cheaper at corner garden stand “Boston Tropical”. If I add in that, will bring grocery bill up to $100. I did take advantage of a spend $15, get $5 off with the garlic bread and added in some ravioli (also spinach ravioli to add to chicken soup.. yummy).  I also bought extra salsa, tomato sauce and cream cheese on sale and asparagus was on a 3day sale of only $1.49/lb at Stop and Shop.  Plus side was my gas points are at 2800 (will save 2.20/gal with .60/gal savings towards next fill up).  Go to  ‘Frugal’ page to learn about gas point savings.

blogfrugalgroceries

I only shop Stop and Shop. I know my store, it’s sale cycles, the staff, they are close to home and I am truly addicted to my gas points/savings. blogfrugalstopandshoplogo

I have not spent more than $1.50 gal for gas in four months thanks to Kathy Spencer at www.howtoshopforfree.net .  I also have $ensible Deal$ on facebook   https://www.facebook.com/groups/404547752977901/ with automatic posts, people shopping everywhere update throughout the day with their great finds. There are tons of coupon websites/blogs/facebook posts, you just need to find the one(s) that work best for you and the stores you favor.  I used to do the multiple grocery store and drugstore (cvs, rite aid and walgreens) but way too much time for me. Now I stick to Stop and Shop and Rite Aid, both I drive by every day so easy to stop in for last minute deals that I see posted.

The websites I frequent right now are www.howtoshopforfree.net (Kathy is from Massachusetts, which is a huge plus for me) , www.krazycouponlady.com , www.couponmom.com .

Hope you find this info useful.. remember, #1 make your list, stick to it. #2 write down what you spent. Step Two coming soon.

About Kim @ WampumHome

life in progress
This entry was posted in Frugal. Bookmark the permalink.

let your voice be heard

